ACA Logo

Reed Named President of Ag Council

On Monday, December 12th, at the Ag Council of Arkansas annual meeting, the board of directors elected Nathan Reed of Marianna to serve as president of the organization for a two year term beginning in January 2023. Reed succeeds John King III of Helena who served as president from 2021 through 2022.

Reed, a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, and the University of Arkansas School of Law, farms 8,500 acres of cotton, corn, soybeans, and rice. Reed farms with his wife Kristin and their four children.

Reed is active in his local community and with other agricultural organizations, including the National Cotton Council where he serves as Chairman of the American Cotton Producers (ACP), which is the industry segment representing cotton farmers. He also serves as an appointed member of the Arkansas State Plant Board where he represents farmer interests in developing and enforcing rules impacting agriculture.

Throughout his career of farming and public service, Nathan has received numerous accolades for his leadership and accomplishments. The Ag Council of Arkansas is fortunate and excited to have Nathan ascend to the position of president for the organization.

We are also grateful for the outstanding leadership of outgoing president, John King III, who helped notch several wins for our industry and accomplishments for our organization. He also played a key role in helping to lay the foundation of our industry policy requests for the upcoming farm bill by communicating directly with members of Congress, including participating in a U.S. Senate farm bill listening session in Washington, D.C., and a field hearing with the two top ranking members of the U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee in Jonesboro, Arkansas.

In addition to naming Reed as president, the Ag Council board of directors also elected two new vice presidents in Jeff Rutledge of Newport and Joe Mencer of Lake Village while re-electing Rick Bransford of Lonoke to serve as treasurer. The Ag Council board under the leadership of incoming president Nathan Reed named the following individuals to serve on the organization's executive committee along with the aforementioned officers: John C. King III, Helena; Matt Hyneman, Jonesboro; West Higginbothom, Marianna; Dow Brantley, England; David Wallace Jr., Crawfordsville; Pace Hindsley, Marvell; and Jason Felton, Marianna. The board of directors also welcomed new board members Frederick Black, Jr., Pickens; Bradley Day, Dumas; Ryan Johnson, Wilmot; and Brad Doyle, Weiner.

More on the Ag Council of Arkansas: