ACA Logo

Arkansas Grow For The Green Soybean Challenge Open

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (June 1, 2020) - The application period for the 10th annual Arkansas Soybean Association (ASA) Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is officially open. All soybean producers in Arkansas are eligible to participate in this contest, which is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (ASPB), with crop management assistance provided by The University of Arkansas Extension Services (UAEX). Participating producers from across the state compete for a chance to win a cash prize by producing the highest yield crop in their region. The contest was established to recognize and reward the top soybean producers in Arkansas, collect valuable production data, and promote best production practices in the state.

The 2020 edition of the contest follows the format of previous years in which the state is divided into seven geographic regions or categories, plus one conventional (non-GMO) category, that covers the entire state. These include:

1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, and East of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence and West of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe counties

4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas counties

5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area) counties

6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha counties

7. Western: Remainder of the state

8. Conventional Division: Entire State non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top three producers at the ASA Annual Meeting in January. Those who place first in each category will receive a cash prize of $7,500, second place contestants will receive $5,000, and third place contestants will collect $2,500. In addition, the state's top producer will receive a bonus in prize money and a trip to the 2021 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas. As an added incentive, producers achieving 120 bu./ac. will receive an equal portion of $10,000. Production data and contest results from 2019 and previous years are available on the ASA website.

"The growers who participate in this contest should all be commended for their efforts," said Rusty Smith, ASPB chairman and soybean producer from Des Arc. "Being engaged in the industry this way and sharing their talents with other farmers helps us learn and refine the production methods and management practices used in our state."

Entry forms and contest rules are available upon request from the ASA office at 501-666-1418 or your local county extension agent. They can also be downloaded at or


Arkansas Soybean Association

Since 1964, the Arkansas Soybean Association has worked diligently to enhance the economic viability and social well-being of Arkansas soybean producers and their industry. The ASA is an affiliate of the American Soybean Association and is governed by a board of 30 volunteer farmer-leaders from across the state. Learn more about the Arkansas Soybean Association at

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board consists of soybean producers appointed by the Governor and nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.