

## ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

1 Natural Resources Drive, Little Rock, AR 72205 agriculture.arkansas.gov (501) 225-1598



445th Arkansas State Plant Board

November 5, 2021

9:30 a.m.

## Meeting Agenda

1. Opening Remarks – Secretary Wes Ward, Arkansas Department of Agriculture

<u>Board Introductions</u> – Scott Bray, Director, Plant Industries Division

The following 13 members have been appointed to serve on the Arkansas State Plant Board for a term to expire October 1, 2023.

- Bruce Alford, representing forage
- Marty Eaton, representing the Arkansas Seed Dealers Association
- David Gammill, representing corn, peanut, sorghum, turf, or wheat growers
- Mark Hartz, representing the Arkansas Agricultural Aviation Association
- Mark Hopper, representing the Arkansas Pest Management Association
- Matthew Marsh, representing rice growers
- Reynold Meyer, representing livestock producers
- Matthew Miles, representing soybean growers
- Mark Morgan, representing the Arkansas Horticultural Society and the Arkansas Green Industry Association
- Nathan Reed, representing farmers
- Lester Scott, representing the Arkansas Crop Protection Association
- Travis Senter, representing farmers
- Richard Watts, representing the Arkansas Forestry Association

Two non-voting members designated by the Vice President for Agriculture of the University of Arkansas remained on the Board:

- Dr. Ken Korth, University of Arkansas, Entomology and Plant Pathology
- Dr. Nathan Slaton, University of Arkansas, Agriculture Experiment Station

Two members appointed by the Governor whose terms expire March 17, 2022, remained on the Board:

- Darrell Hess, representing the Arkansas Plant Food Association
- Sam Stuckey, representing cotton growers

Two positions remain vacant:

- Arkansas Seed Growers Association
- Arkansas Oil Marketers Association
- Introduction and Remarks from Arkansas Department of Agriculture, Chief Legal
   Counsel Wade Hodge, Chief Legal Counsel
- 3. Overview of the Arkansas Department of Agriculture and Plant Industries

  <u>Division</u> Scott Bray
- 4. Introduction of Section Managers and Section Overviews Scott Bray
  - Susie Nichols Pesticide Section
  - Mark Stoll Regulatory Services Section
  - Mike Stage Quality Control and Compliance Section
  - David Fort Inspection Services Section
  - Nikhil Soman Bureau of Standards
- 5. **Election of Officers** Scott Bray

The Board traditionally elects officers at the first meeting after July 1 each year

## Chairman will conduct the remainder of the meeting

- 6. Review and/or Discussion and/or Adoption of By-Laws
- 7. Elect Plant Board Member to Serve on the Arkansas Agriculture Board

The State Plant Board is to have two members serve on the Arkansas Agriculture Board, at least one of whom shall be actively engaged in farming. Currently, Matthew Marsh is serving on the Arkansas Agriculture Board.

## 8. <u>Discussion - Appointing Someone to Serve on the Arkansas Boll Weevil Eradication</u> <u>Foundation Representing the State Plant Board</u>

The State Plant Board is to recommend to the Governor, two Arkansas cotton growers to serve as Plant Board representatives on the Arkansas Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation Board.

- 9. Discuss Committees and Committee Assignments Chairman
- 10. <u>Minutes</u> of the March 3, 2021, quarterly Board meeting and the May 3, 2021, Special Called Board meeting are ready for approval.
- 11. <u>Examination Results</u>. The Pest Control examinations given March 8 April 12 May 10 June 14 July 14 August 9 September 13, 2021, are ready for Board action. <u>ATTACHMENT?</u>
- 12. Other Business. Chairman may wish to cover other business.
- 13. <u>Date for the next Quarterly Board Meeting</u>. Set date for the next quarterly Board meeting in March 2022.