Executive Officers

Executive Vice President

Andrew Grobmyer (Little Rock, AR)

headshotAndrew Grobmyer was selected in 2011 to serve as the fourth Executive Vice President of the Agricultural Council of Arkansas (ACA).  Mr. Grobmyer is a native Arkansan who brings an extensive understanding of agriculture in Arkansas as well as experience in the legislative and government arena.

After graduating from Southern Methodist University in 2002, Andrew moved to Washington, D.C. where he served on the staff of Arkansas Senator Mark Pryor and Congressman Marion Berry as a Legislative Assistant covering issues related primarily to agriculture, appropriations, trade, and transportation. In this role he focused on helping Arkansas farmers, agri-businesses, and rural communities.

Andrew currently serves as a board member on the Agricultural Foundation for Agriculture and the University of Arkansas’s Agriculture Development Council.  He also serves as a policy advisor to the American Cotton Producers arm of the National Cotton Council and as an advisor to the Arkansas Agricultural Workers Compensation Self Insurance Fund’s board of directors.


West Higginbothom (Marianna, Arkansas)

West Higginbothom was elected by the Agricultural Council of Arkansas Board of Directors to serve as President of the organization for a two-year term that began January 1, 2017.  He succeeds Rick Bransford of Lonoke who completed his term as president.

Higginbothom operates a 4,500 acre family farm in Lee County with his father Steve and brings many leadership attributes to the organization. He serves on the Arkansas Soybean Research and Promotion Board where he recently concluded a term as Chairman.  He also brings 11 years of public service experience having served in the United States Senate under three U.S. Senators and as a staff member to the Senate Agriculture Committee and Senate Appropriations Committee. In addition to all West learned in Washington about policy making and public service, he also learned a great deal from his father who served in the Arkansas State Senate and helped usher legislation that established the Arkansas Agriculture Department.

The Higginbothom family traditionally farms corn, soybeans, wheat and grain sorghum though they have grown cotton in years past. The family was recognized in 2015 as Lee County Farm Family of the Year. His immediate family consists of his wife Weezie and their three children (West 7, Milner 4, and Ruthie 2).  Higginbothom is a graduate of the University of Arkansas where he received a degree in finance and became a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity. Higginbothom, an Episcopalian, also serves as a board member to the Lee County Community Foundation and attends the First United Methodist Church in Marianna.


First Vice President

Dow Brantley (England, Arkansas)

DOW HeadshotDow Brantley is a third generation farmer and a partner of Brantley Farming Company in England, Arkansas.  Since joining the operation in 2000 Brantley works with his family in producing cotton, corn, rice, soybeans, and wheat on some 10,000 acres.  He holds a bachelor’s degree in agriculture food & life sciences from the University of Arkansas.  After graduation Brantley spent time in Washington, D.C., working with the United States Department of Agriculture before returning to the family farm.  Brantley is Active in the National Cotton Council, USA Rice Federation, Arkansas Rice Federation, Arkansas Farm Bureau, and Ag Council of Arkansas. He and his wife Amy have three children, daughters Caroline, Virginia, and Ruth.



Second Vice President

Matt Hyneman (Jonesboro, Arkansas)



Cal McCastlain (Little Rock, Arkansas)

McCastlainCal McCastlain was born in Brinkley, Arkansas, in 1959.  He currently practices law at Dover Dixon Horne PLLC where he works on matters related to corporate planning, tax law, agribusiness, and agricultural real estate.  He also farms rice, beans, and wheat in Monroe County Arkansas.  Cal is an active member of the Arkansas Bar Association, American Bar Association, and Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants.  He serves as general counsel for corporate clients, including quasi public and special purpose agri-business entities.  He also serves as a Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Cal is a past President of the Agricultural Council of Arkansas and past Chairman and Current Director of the Arkansas Wheat Promotion Board.  He has represented the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture on the Council for Agricultural Research Extension and Teaching (CARET), served as a member of the USDA Advisory Committee on Agricultural Biotechnology from 2000-2002.  He is a retired Colonel in the Arkansas Army National Guard Judge Advocate General’s Corps (JAGC) and past Commissioner for the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals from 1985-1988.