New Director Named for Arkansas Waterways Commission

The Arkansas Waterways Commission has appointed a new Executive Director in Cassandra Caldwell of Oklahoma. The Arkansas Waterways Commission is the sole state agency responsible for developing, promoting and protecting waterborne transportation in Arkansas. The Commission also promotes economic development for ports on the five commercially navigable rivers of the state: The Arkansas, Mississippi, Ouachita, Red, and White Rivers.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Each commissioner serves a seven year term and terms are staggered.

More below: