Arkansas Gets Two New Appointees for Cotton Board

On Monday, February 12, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agriculture Marketing Service (AMS) announced appointments for the Cotton Board. Arkansas will add two new members who will replace Marty White and Rick Bransford, both board members to the Ag Council of Arkansas. Replacing Mr. White and Mr. Bransford are Pace Hindsley of Marvell to serve as member and Rafe Banks of Clarkedale to serve as alternate member. Mr. Hindsley and Mr. Banks are also members of the board to the Ag Council of Arkansas.

More below:

Release No. 0033.18
Contact: USDA Press

USDA Announces Cotton Board Appointments
WASHINGTON, Feb. 12, 2018 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of 13 members, 13 alternate members and one advisor to serve on the Cotton Board. The following appointees will serve three-year terms ending Dec. 31, 2020.
“The Cotton Board carries out research and promotional activities that strengthen the competitive position of cotton by expanding demand in domestic and foreign markets, improving fiber quality, and lowering costs of production,” said Perdue. “These appointees represent a cross section of the industry and I know that the cotton industry will be well served by their work.”

The newly appointed member is Pace Hindsley, Marvell, Ark.

Re-appointed members are:
Michael K. Kobori, Berkeley, Calif.
Dustin Mancebo, Dos Palos, Calif.
Debi M. Gregg, Irvine, Calif.
Sally M. Gilligan, San Francisco, Calif.
George G. LaCour Jr., Morganza, La.
James C. Robertson Jr., Indianola, Miss.
Akiko Inui, New York, N.Y.
Chuck J. Ward, Hickory, N.C.
David M. Dunlow, Roanoke Rapids, N.C.
Bryan K. Patterson, Amherst, Texas
Debra R. Barrett, Edroy, Texas
Sigifredo Valverde, Shallowater, Texas

Newly appointed alternate members are:
Rebecca E. Thom, Lake Providence, La.
James W. McKinnon, Rye, N.Y.
Silas K. Smith, Rocky Mount, N.C.
Rafe A. Banks, Memphis, Tenn.
Jon T. Jones, Floydada, Texas
Laurie A. Sutandar, Frisco, Texas
Kody S. Bessent, Lubbock, Texas
Emily L. Gigot, Seattle, Wash.

Re-appointed alternate members are:
Aaron Barcellos, Los Banos, Calif.
Marshall D. Draughn Jr., Severna Park, Md.
Patrick L. Johnson, Jr., Tunica, Miss.
Stefanie Rotta, Elkins Park, Pa.
Michael C. Popp, El Campo, Texas

Re-appointed as advisor is Marshal Cohen, Upper Brookeville, N.Y.
The Secretary also appointed the following:
Rajiv Malik, Tiburon, Calif., to fill an importer alternate positon expiring Dec. 31, 2018
Andrea Nypen, Lakeville, Minn., to fill an importer alternate position expiring Dec. 31, 2019
Douglas P. Guiley, New York, N.Y., to fill an importer alternate position expiring Dec. 31, 2018
Ronnie N. Hopper Jr., Petersburg, Texas, to fill a producer alternate position expiring Dec. 31, 2019
The Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966 (Act) authorized a national cotton research and promotion program that is both industry-operated and funded. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.
More information is available on the AMS Cotton Board website, or visit the Cotton Board’s website.