Higginbothom Takes Helm at Ag Council

For Immediate Release | Tuesday, January 3, 2017

West Higginbothom Named President of Agricultural Council of Arkansas
Marianna Native Brings D.C. Experience and Arkansas Leadership to Ag Council

LITTLE ROCK-  West Higginbothom of Marianna, Arkansas, was recently elected by the board of directors of the Agricultural Council of Arkansas to serve as President of the organization for a two-year term that began January 1, 2017.  He succeeds Rick Bransford of Lonoke who completed his term as president.

Higginbothom, who operates a 4,500 acre family farm in Lee County with his father Steve, brings many leadership attributes to the organization. He serves on the Arkansas Soybean Research and Promotion Board where he recently concluded a term as Chairman.  He also brings 11 years of public service experience having served in the United States Senate under three U.S. Senators and as a staff member to the Senate Agriculture Committee and Senate Appropriations Committee. In addition to all West learned in Washington about policy making and public service, he also learned a great deal from his father who served in the Arkansas State Senate and helped usher legislation that established the Arkansas Agriculture Department.

The Higginbothom family traditionally farms corn, soybeans, wheat and grain sorghum though they have grown cotton in years past. The family was recognized in 2015 as Lee County Farm Family of the Year. His immediate family consists of his wife Weezie and their three children (West 7, Milner 4, and Ruthie 2).  Higginbothom is a graduate of the University of Arkansas where he received a degree in finance and became a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity. Higginbothom, an Episcopalian, also serves as a board member to the Lee County Community Foundation and attends the First United Methodist Church in Marianna.

Higginbothom will lead the Executive Committee and Board of Directors of the Ag Council alongside Dow Brantley (Lonoke County), 1st Vice President; Matt Hyneman (Craighead County), 2nd Vice President; and Cal McCastlain (Monroe County), Treasurer.

Statement by Ag Council Executive Vice President Andrew Grobmyer:

“West is a tremendous leader and an even better person. We are fortunate to continue the tradition of maintaining top notch principals at the Ag Council, and we have no doubt that West will be a steady leader and effective advocate for farmers and agricultural businesses in Arkansas. His experience in Washington and leadership accomplishments in Arkansas are a rare and highly valuable package to have as president. We look forward to what the next few years hold.”

About the Agricultural Council of Arkansas

The Agricultural Council of Arkansas (Ag Council) is a non-profit trade association established in 1939 to tell the story of row crop agriculture in Arkansas, advocate on behalf of farmers and agriculture related businesses, and improve the economies of the communities around us. Our membership is composed of family farms, agriculture businesses, and others supportive of agriculture in Arkansas. We strive to advance policies that will ensure the continued success of agriculture in our state.

Andrew Grobmyer, Executive Vice President
(501) 376-0455 | 




Pictured above (left to right): Incoming President West Higginbothom, Executive Vice President Andrew Grobmyer, and Outgoing President Rick Bransford. Picture taken December 15th at the Ag Council of Arkansas Board of Directors Annual Meeting in Little Rock.